FAQs - Speed Humps / Cushions / Bumps - Baldeagle
Hi Peeps, I am new to this marvellous site and was looking for an 'FAQ' section.

Having not found one and not being too successful with the site search I will try a question that I need some guidance on:

I have changed from a Honda CRV to a Mondeo TDCI hatchback (04) with 17" wheels and wide (ish) tyres. Speed humps were no problem in the CRV. How should they be driven over in the Mondeo? a. Evenly straddled with the centre of the car over the centre of the hump or b. One side off the hump - either in the middle or edge - the other side over the highest part of the hump?

TIA
FAQs - Speed Humps / Cushions / Bumps - AlastairW
Not sure on the best way to approach the hump, but you need to joins HJs Campaign Against Speed Humps (CASH).
FAQs - Speed Humps / Cushions / Bumps - nutty_nissan
The approach method is irrelevant as long as you are driving at a low enough speed!!! If you intend to drive quickly over them (as many 4x4 drivers do) in a Mondeo, your best bet is to align yourself up, so you go straight over the centre.
FAQs - Speed Humps / Cushions / Bumps - Manatee
If you're talking about the cushions or truncated pyramids, my technique is very slowly and one wheel on top, the other off. Reasoning being that (i) one wheel one each slope will inevitably wear the tyres excessively on the inside, and (ii) I am am not going to thump the dampers over the obstruction unless the council starts paying for replacements.

The fact that I do this at 5-10mph causes me some irritation, and a lot more to the following drivers of (I assume) company cars who are happy to hit them at 30mph anyway - not my problem, address all complaints to the idiots who decided to put them there.
FAQs - Speed Humps / Cushions / Bumps - Dynamic Dave
Having not found one and not being too successful with the
site search

Site search = anything not forum related.

Forum search = anything forum related. (just under where you log in/out)