Horrendous Economy or lead foot? - Adam {P}
I'm going to post this in Discussion as I think it's more my style than anything wrong with the car.

I know I'm a pretty new driver so I've tried out a number of techniques as I'm inquisitive. As you may or may not know, I own a 1.8 Focus. I know it's a pretty thirsty engine but I seem to be filling her up every day.

I usually only put a tenner in or if I'm doing a big run that day I'll stick £20 in. I never put any more in and so, obviously, never fill the tank. Because of this, I wouldn't be able to give you the MPG figures but I have tried changing my driving style.

At first I tried toning it down I bit. I don't drive like a loon anyway (subjective) but I did drive slower. Still didn't notice that much of a change so I took it even slower keeping it under 3,000 revs, sticking to 70 like glue, aircon off etc... but fortunately I never noticed a difference. This is good because I think I'd die within the month of boredom.

So I've gone back to my spirited methods. Not stupid or anything like that but double declutching on my nice country roads, keeping it in third for nice twisty bits and...well - you know what I mean. To be perfectly honest, I don't notice any decrease in economy. Of course, I know that without quantitative evidence I can't make solid assumptions but I know the car and can pretty much gauge how much petrol I have left. I usually wait for the light to come on before I fill up so that helps me keep an eye on it too.

It isn't a rant about petrol prices. I knew when I got the car I was going to pay but it's worth it. I just wondered if anyone had any thoughts?

Many thanks,
--
Adam
Horrendous Economy or lead foot? - DavidHM
Adam,

I'd have thought that no matter how much you thrashed the car, staying below 85 on motorways (as opposed to 110) and not doing anything stupid, you should be getting an absolute minimum of 80 miles to your tenner.