Omega tramlining & tyres - omegatony
Hello, I'm a newbie to this site. Omega 2.2 CD Auto, 2002 reg.
Tramlining is the worst I've ever felt, plus steering wheel is 5 degrees right of centre. SWMBO refuses to drive it on rural roads! and I keep 2 hands on the wheel. Tyres are P7 225/55R16 V95 12K miles, so not badly worn (though have been overinflated in the past). VX dealer advises that steering/suspension is Ok, and advises me to replace tyres with others that are non-directional. ie do not have to be fitted with outer side out, or fitted with arrow going in driving direction.
They advise steering wheel can be centred if and when steering gets retracked. 1. Am I getting fobbed off even tho' warranty still applies? 2. Are there better tyres out there that cope with tramlining.? 3. Is off-centre steering wheel suspicious of other damage?
thanks, Tony
Omega tramlining & tyres - Dynamic Dave
Firstly, welcome to the site Tony.

If you click on the forum search (where you log in/out) and enter "tramlining" into the Message Body window, then select Technical Matters from the drop down menu, you will find plenty of Omega tramlining threads.
Omega tramlining & tyres - Sooty Tailpipes
Mine never did this with Pirelli P6000s, but with Goodyear Eagle F1s it does, quite badly too on our third world roads with worn troughs. Recently I needed new front tyres, I have been so impressed with the F1s grip, I got two more (on the front) at first not a hint of tramlining, but 2 months later - now they're worn -in, it's as bad as before.

Next I will try another tyre with a more conservative and non-directional tread, such as NCT 5, but not P7s after what you've said!
Omega tramlining & tyres - smokie
Awww...takes me back to my First Ever Post here...

www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/post/index.htm?v=e&t=22...4