Synthetic Oil - Vin Kennedy
I'm taking the plunge and changing to full synthetic for my Omega. Couple of
1. Do I have to flush the system out, or is this just an old wives' tale?

2. Short of buying a Vauxhall filter, what brands can I go for that have a
non-return valve?

3. Anyone tried any brands other than Mobil 1? Halfords do a full synthetic, but
am I right to be wary of it?
RE: Synthetic Oil - Roger Jones
I am no expert, but flushing the system at each oil change makes good common sense to me. I have never deviated from Mobil 1, but would be interested in comments from others about different brands.
RE: Synthetic Oil - Robin Baxter
I had a third share in a 1939 ex navy 55 and 1/2 foot harbour launch fitted with a Foden FD6 4.2 litre 2 stroke (wet sump) supercharged diesel. It had 2 big oil filters. The total capacity was about 4 gallons. I had the instruction manual. It said that the engine should never be run UNTIL full oil pressure had been achieved. This was done using a manual pump on the side of the engine once new oil had been put in. Basically, you pumped till there was pressure showing on the gauge. It strikes me that if Foden (ERF is his son, Mr E.R.Foden) knew that in 1939, it might be a good idea to stick with it. My opinion is DO NOT use flushing oil because you have to run the engine twice with no oil till the pressure builds up, causing more bad than good. I also think that the difference between fully synthetic and mineral oils is huge, wheras the difference between Mobil 1 and eg Halfords etc is minimal. Moral: don't flush, and use Halfords synthetic. (PS It's a pity that the rest of the car will rust away before the engine wears out) (PPS I still change my oil and filter at 5000 miles anyway, and will I soon be prosecuted for not expressing my oil changes in KILOMETRES rather than miles ! ! ! )
RE: Synthetic Oil - Peter Todd