Audi A4 avant - jivemonkey

Looking at buying one used with a budget around 15k. thinking around 2017 2litre diesel because I do around 15 to 20,000 miles a year much on motorway and want a smaller estate for family. Any advice on engine size or model to go for appreciated for reliability and comfortable drive, I am a pretty chilled driver. I am likely to run this fforfat least 5 years upto around160k.

Edited by jivemonkey on 27/12/2020 at 19:01

Audi A4 avant - badbusdriver

Not sure I'd consider an A4 a 'smaller' estate, but I guess it depends what you are comparing it to!. Not something which appeals to me, but they do seem to tick the right boxes for many folk. As you want comfort, just be careful what spec and what wheel/tyre combo the car has. 'Sporty' versions of German cars, particularly Audi's, seem to have overly stiff suspension, certainly for our UK roads!.

Audi A4 avant - sammy1

Check out the size of the fuel tank. Some models have a small capacity tank presumably to penny pinch on production line.

Audi A4 avant - RT

Check out the size of the fuel tank. Some models have a small capacity tank presumably to penny pinch on production line.

The modern trend to smaller fuel tanks, not unique to Audi, is to reduce the weight and produce better economy and CO2 figures - the effect is marginal but every little helps.

Audi A4 avant - Steveieb

Absolutely love my A4 although I have the 1.9 Tdi which is no longer available.

So you need to be very specific about engines and avoid the autos. It’s a minefield on those issues but the car is fantastic in all ways. Looks handling , but keep to over 55 profile tyres unless you like the hard bumpy ride.

Audi A4 avant - skidpan

As you want comfort, just be careful what spec and what wheel/tyre combo the car has. 'Sporty' versions of German cars, particularly Audi's, seem to have overly stiff suspension, certainly for our UK roads!.