Most Reliable Hatchback For Under 5k? - Mr.Paws

I'm looking to buy a car as I'm going to change jobs as I've had enough of where I work. I've been driving new company cars for the last three years. But this is obviously going to have to go back. I couldn't care less about cars, but would obviously not want to buy a crap one.

Previously before the company cars, I've never really spent more than 5k on a car. I've also kept them for ages. These were nearly always Japanese cars, although I had a couple of MK1 Focus' which were very good cars. I'm looking for something around that size. I had toyed with the idea of getting an FN2 Civic Type R, but the road tax puts me off, I know they're a cracking engine as I've had an EP3 that had done a lot of miles. I used to do just about all the maintenance on the cars I had.

I'm thinking to avoid diesel cars. I just want something that is reliable and not bad on fuel, I'm not bothered how fast it is, but I'm guessing it needs to be at least 100 BHP. I'm thinking of a Honda Civic, same shape as the FN2, Hyundai I30, Kia Ceed or possibly a Focus. Not sure I fancy a Vauxhall or anything French or Nissan (used to be great cars, wouldn't have one now). I just wondered if anybody had any ideas, or know of issues with petrol engines etc or these cars, or could suggest something else thanks.

Edited by Mr.Paws on 22/09/2020 at 10:52

Most Reliable Hatchback For Under 5k? - madf

Son bought a 20111 Civic 1.8 petrol last Year. Just over £5k. 45k miles. FSH..

Great to drive..Roomy and it's a Honda so very reliable.

Most Reliable Hatchback For Under 5k? - catsdad
Yes Civic is a good choice. Your budget will on the cusp of 1.8 mk8 and mk9. The later car will be better in most people's eyes not least as it has a rear wiper.

Thanks for the replies. I thought the Civic might be a really good choice. I've read a lot about the FN2, so know to look out for rust around the windscreen seal.

Edited by Mr.Paws on 22/09/2020 at 11:32