Audi A3 - Audi A3 - Buying a high mileage A3 - advice needed - Mihai-Florin Bora

Hi guys,

I'm looking to buy my first car here in the UK. I'm 29 years old and had my driving licence since I was 18 (issued in my home country, Romania) and although I've been living in the UK since 2013, I haven't driven here at all yet.

I've been looking on autotrader and I'm considering the following:

www.autotrader.co.uk/car-details/202009023242239?y...1

My budget is very little £2.5-3k and (needlessly to say) I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to buying cars, what to look for in a first car, etc.

Also, back home (when I was 18-20 years old) I was a decent driver but it's been quite a long time since I've driven so I'm wondering what would be the best option for me; pick up some lessons here? A small concern is also that I will be driving on the other side of the road, stirring wheel on the other side, etc.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Many thanks,

Florin

Audi A3 - Audi A3 - Buying a high mileage A3 - advice needed - Ethan Edwards

I suggest you get a quote for car insurance before buying. As I guess the cost of that will also be coming out if the 2.5 to 3k. Colleagues of mine have young offspring getting their first policy and they are spending about 2k on insurance alone.

Audi A3 - Audi A3 - Buying a high mileage A3 - advice needed - Mihai-Florin Bora

I've been looking and the cheapest I can get (based on comparethemarket quotes) is around £650-£700 a year for the comprehensive type. This is without the breakdown cover or motor legal protection which looks like a £70 extra add on. Is it worth adding them as well? I'm inclined to do so.

Audi A3 - Audi A3 - Buying a high mileage A3 - advice needed - SLO76