engine designs-what the future holds - concrete

I recently read a small article in a magazine about the w***el engine. A rotary engine with fewer moving parts than a normal piston engine.

At the time it was seen as the future and a major advancement to the internal combustion engine. What happened? I know that Mazda make a car with a rotary engine, but if it had such potential why was it not truly developed on a larger scale? I am not a mechanical engineer but the concept sounds very good. Any comments?

Cheers Concrete

engine designs-what the future holds - John F

Those of us old enough remember the NSU Ro80 as prematurely wearing out the rotor tips and lousy fuel economy. Thanks for reminding me about this fascinating engine (excellent piece in Wiki). Seems it might have an ideal future as a small light range extender for hybrids.

engine designs-what the future holds - brum

Mazda has tried to perserve with the w***el engine for many years but have never managed to overcome the fundamental design problem of sealing the rotor reliably without wearing seals. Its a design that is novel but fundamentally limited in that it cannot acheive high compression or efficiency. It is a high oil burner.

It has no future apart from a chapter in engine design history.

NSU who pioneered it became Audi, who saw it was a dead end.

engine designs-what the future holds - Engineer Andy

At present Mazda aren't selling (presumably not making either) any rotary engined car (the last being the '4-seater' [barely, at the cost of a lot of boot space] RX-8) at present, though a successor may be in the pipeline. It had a 1.3 ltr engine, developing between 200-240 bhp - the problems it suffered from were:

1. Low torque - you had to rev the proverbial nuts off it (even more than a VVTi type engine) to get all that power down, making it noisy like a vacuum cleaner - not a cruiser or an everyday car, more a weekend car for a thrash.