Used Car Typical Discounts - galwayman

Hi.

I am new to the Uk so forgive me if this is a silly question but...

Would you typically expect to get much (if any) of a discount on an advertised dealer price of a used car?

In my own home country there is generally room for manouevre on the price advertised but I'm not sure if this is the case in the Uk also?

Have been looking at a few cars advertised at around the £1200-12900 mark and wondering if there would be any room for negotiation on these prices.

Cheers

Used Car Typical Discounts - RobJP

I'm not sure if you mean £12000-12900, or 1200 to 1290.

As to discount, yes, there usually is room to move. But it all depends on the car, how long they've had it in stock, and numerous other factors.

For example at this time of year, convertibles make full price. If you don't buy it, someone else probably will, so why drop the price.

Conversely, big 4*4s do really well in November / December. Especially if the weather is pretty bad. Nothing like snow and ice for pushing the prices up.

If you go via motors.co.uk, there is (or used to be) a part on the page where you can see how long a car has been for sale. Again, something that's been sitting on the front for a long time they're going to be more willing to move on the price.

Thanks for your reply. Sorry I meant £12000 to £12900.

I'm pretty sure the car I am looking at has been for sale for over a year (it is an s line audi a4 advertised at £12900).

Which makes me wonder if there is something wrong with it maybe.

I guess I'm just trying to work out realistically what I could buy the car for - having not previously bought in the uk before.

Ahh, yes, I had seen that other post too.

Just bear in mind that Audi's 'S-line' suspension is basically made out of rocks a few years ago. With all the give and comfort that you'd expect. Especially if it's got big wheels