Towbar Cycle Carrier - weight limit? - Dingle232

I have a Volvo V40 and need to find a way to transport 2 electric bikes (combined weight 50kg) around at weekends. Roof bars, and also lifting them, are not a solution as the bikes are too heavy and the car is too small to take both bikes in the back.

So looks like the only solution I have is a towbar carrier and I have never used one before. I believe that, weight wise, the carriers can handle it but I am just more bothered if the car itself is big enough as I normally see these things hitched up to the back of estates and AWD's rather than mid sized hatchbacks.

Anyone used one on a similar sized vehicle without issues?

I'd also probably be using a towbar with a detachable end to it and, again, never used one of theseso any views as to how robust they are would be appreciated.

Thank you!

Towbar Cycle Carrier - weight limit? - RobJP

I'd suggest checking your owner's handbook initially. That should tell you the max noseweight of any towbar / equipment on your vehicle.

Towbar Cycle Carrier - weight limit? - brum

Isn't the idea to ride the bikes rather than have the bikes ride you?

And what with the electric bit, you'll never get fit on one of those.

;)

Sorry if my initial question was a little unclear. The towing weight for the car based on the manufacturer's guide is well within the limit. It's more a question of 2 big bikes and a carrier on the back of a small car and whether that gives any issues really.

Most of the cars I see them attached to are much bigger/wider so that there is sufficient width in the car to avoid the carrier being much wider.

As for electric bikes - they do 'elp on them 'ills :-)

Towbar Cycle Carrier - weight limit? - Brit_in_Germany

One idea is to strip the bikes of as much weight as possible before loading them on the carrier, in particular the heavy batteries. The electrical contacts should then be masked off with tape to stop them getting covered with muck.