BMW 320i - Used BMW 320i. What to watch out for? - Coroare

Hi guys,

This is my first time buying a used car. I saw this pretty good example of a 1991 (J Reg) BMW 320i Sport Automatic. It has 12 months MOT and a full service history. The price seems good, and I'm going to test drive it at the weekend.

Problem is, I'm not 100% sure what to look out for! Hiring out a mechanic to look it over would be half the cost of the car itself.

If any of you have any experience with this era/model of BMW, I'd really appreciate any advice you could give a newbie.

Thanks,

Fred

Edited by Coroare on 08/10/2015 at 17:10

BMW 320i - Used BMW 320i. What to watch out for? - RobJP

It's a 24 year old car. Yes, nearly a quarter of a century.

The list of possible faults, areas that might be rusty, etc. mean that this should be bought for banger money (£500 or less), in which case an inspection doesn't matter, as it is so cheap.

If it drives and you like it, and all the paperwork is in order, and it is dead cheap, then buy it. But be aware that if a serious fault occurs then it's heading for the scrappers.

Edited by RobJP on 08/10/2015 at 17:35

BMW 320i - Used BMW 320i. What to watch out for? - elekie&a/c doctor

Is this an E30 or E36 model.?

E36

Cheers Rob, that's pretty much what I was after. He's asking £500 on the nose, and I'll find out if it drives on Saturday. What are the danger zones for rust?