unknown - Advice for a smallholder - grays85

Very good website: My nail of a Jeep died today!! so, I'd like some advice please, I do about 11k miles a year, generally tootling about..7k journeys.., My wife does 1 day a week commute of 60miles, i need something good in snow and mud, reliable, can tow a trailer with a couple of sheep in. and have about £3000 to spend any ideas everyone? I'm no mechanic for sure, afraid private buyers are chucking their cars in cos they're about to go wrong, and didn't have a good experience with a garage...bit stuck really... any advice would be great,,I live in the sticks so not much about locally..(Ludlow) thanks guys

unknown - Advice for a smallholder - Happy Blue!

Subaru Forester. Very reliable and farmers love them. Available in petrol or diesel, not overly economical, but lack of repair bills will compensate. Very comfortable ride in non-turbo models and decent with turbos. Manual cars have low range gearbox as well so good for snow/mud.

Try this..

www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/20150303138...p

Edited by Happy Blue! on 11/03/2015 at 17:27

unknown - Advice for a smallholder - gordonbennet

Or Subaru Outback, you won't find a Diesel Subaru in budget which might be a blessing seeing as how many are up for sale with knocking or worse engines.

Not far from Ludlow is the chap who LPG converted my Outback H6, so there's a thought for you, low mileage Outback pre 03, and get it LPG converted by Toby, you end up with a fast and frugal full time auto 4WD that will do all you ask in comfort.

If you prefer a more traditional 4x4 then a Nissan Terrano might be just the ticket and being somewhat unfashionable and maybe lacking the right image are cheap.

Landcruiser/Patrol very reliable/tough and will go anywhere on the right tyres but you'll be going old and high mileage for £3k.

Edited by gordonbennet on 11/03/2015 at 17:34

unknown - Advice for a smallholder - RobJP