Subaru Forester XT - Why do Subaru get such poor reviews? - HectorG
I have just bought a new Forester XT. A bit of a heart versus head purchase. Having been running a Freelander 2 SD4 for the last three years and waiting for the Forester diesel Lineartronic (CVT) to be released I got fed up waiting and was seduced by the superb new 2.0 DIT petrol turbo in the new Forester.

I have been running this for a month now and have to say it is a pretty convincing package. I have been driving for nearly 50 years and have owned a large number of cars of various types and think I recognise a good car when I drive one. Why is it then that all the usual suspects like What Car, Auto Express, etc generally give it ** in reviews when the owners reviews they publish generally give it *****? In one review I read the main criticism seemed to be that XT was a stupid name for a car with a turbo!

It was purely fortuitous that I ended up with this car. On holiday in Wales in early September, the Freelander displayed a warning on the dash that traction was reduced. I contacted Land Rover Assist at 7.30pm and discovered that the warranty expired at midnight. I took it into the local Land Rover dealer the next day for diagnosis. They happened to have just taken on the Subaru franchise in the area and I looked at Subarus they had in the showroom. I had not considered the previous generation Forester ( too much objection from wife), although my car prior to the Freelander was a third generation (SG) Forester 2.0 XT. Up until this moment I had not considered the fourth generation Forester (SJ) because of the poor reviews. When I was told the Freelander needed a new Haldex unit I Googled "Haldex and diff issues" and decided it was time to get rid.