Hyundai i30 Diesel - Hyundai incompatible with BioDiesel Changes??? - mitch29

Hi,

I am a young professional female who in August 2012 bought my first car (cash) a Hyundai i30. I had read copious reviews on the reliability of the vehicle which game at the tie with 2 years free service left on it and 4 years left of its 5-year warranty.

I have since purchasing the vehicle kept its full service history. The car was serviced in October 2013 by Macklin Motors (whom I purchased the vehicle from). The car showed no issues - although a fuel filter wasn't changed during this time.

Further to this the car was MOT in January 2014. It was noted there was a slight delay in power uptake when accelerating up gears, by my local mechanic. I booked the car in thinking it was a spark plug etc. The local mechanic found nothing wrong.

A week later I was accelerating past a car reaching 60mph where the car lost all power and ground to a halt. No engine lights appeared. The car restarted and after ALOT of reassurance (nearly swiped out by a lorry) from my father, I drove the car home on the dual carriageway at 40mph.

I immediately checked the car back into my local mechanic, who ran diagnostic checks and ran the vehicle out locally. No indication of engine failure AT ALL.

I drove it away and the engine failed 5 times on the way home. Each time restarting no problem. The vehicle showed the manufactures lights permeantly. I then rang a Hyundai garage after consulting Macklin Motors.

They booked the vehicle in 2 weeks after I phoned. Refusing to collect the motor or provide a courtesy car.

The fault: THE CAR WAS INCOMPATIBLE WITH THE NEW CHANGES IN BIO- DIESEL. (Which occurred in November). 2 options:

1. A new filter would need to be fitted costing £118

2. Entire engine clear out for £350- Hyundai would subsidize £70 = £280

Both with no guarantee it would solve the problem.