2.0 td Toyoto Space Cruisers - Alan Curle
Has anybody had an experiences good or bad with these Japanese grey imports? The one I am looking at has an automatic gearbox with full spec.
Re: 2.0 td Toyoto Space Cruisers - John Davis
Alan,
I have an imported Japanese "Masterace". This is not marketed (by Toyota) in this country but, the "Spacecruiser" was, so, with your model, it is likely that much information, ie, manuals etc, are obtainable from the Toyota dealer. My vehicle is a 2Lt diesel with auto box & 4WD. The engine is the "2C-T" turbo which was fitted to the Toyota Camry and, a very comprehensive engine manual is available from the Toyota dealer. A translation is in progress, of a Russian version of the complete workshop manual, now being pursued on another site, which is run by enthusiasts for the Spacecruiser type of vehicle. You will find much information on this site, ie, www.ukspacecruisers.co.uk
These vehicles, because of their complexity, are not for the fainthearted and, do have a tendency to have cooling problems if not checked out thoroughly, but they do represent very good value in terms of specification and "extras" and. over the past year or so, I have been very pleased with mine. Mine has seperate A/C for front and rear, fridge & hotbox, seven "Captains " seats with multiple variations on position with all folding flat, power curtains, electronically controlled suspension, skylite roofs (six) etc, etc. The electronics are likely to be a bit mind boggling but, with the usual Toyota high quality of build and reliability, I have, so far, had no problems which I been unable to sort out.
Yes, bearing in mind the low initial cost, the specification and the "style", I think they are very good vehicles and, contrary to what people might believe, spares, though rarely required, are not a problem.
Re: 2.0 td Toyoto Space Cruisers - Dave N
What was the cooling problem you had?
Re: 2.0 td Toyoto Space Cruisers - John Davis