Car Alarm/Astra - Nick Shirley
Hello all, I have just read in the pper, 12 yr old vauxhall astra are 4x more likely to be stolen in the UK than ny other car, obviously this is because they are timeless classics!

Seriousy though, being the owner of one such vehicle, i think i might buy an alarm, i already have a steering lock, but can anybody recommend a decent alarm for as little cash as possible, and that i can easily fit myself, bearing in mind i am a poor student, and wan to fit it asap- also where can i buy it from?

Thanks!
Re: Car Alarm/Astra - Andrew Hamilton
Cheapest deterrent is a flashing red LED. Looks just as if car is alarmed. Maplins and others supply. It needs a series resistor if limit is usual 12V. I have it on the dashboard and use the current to charge up my rechargeable torch as well!
Re: Car Alarm/Astra - markymarkn
my beloved astra celebrates its 12th birthday this year!!!! noooooooo!!

I'll have to get 24hr security for the rest of the year!

lol

Mark
Re: Car Alarm/Astra - KB
Maybe it would be better if you bought a DISKLOK from Halfords or similar. They're £80, which is a lot for a steering wheel lock, but it covers the whole steering wheel and is VERY strong. (You'll need the 'Small' size on your car) I did a bit of research before getting mine and it seems the best. It's a very visible, effective deterrent. Plus, you can put it on your next car - that's not so easy with an alarm. A good alarm, fitted, is £250 - £300. Also, I agree with Andrew, Maplin Electronics do a flahing LED ready wired and ready to fit in to the dash for less than £2
Re: Car Alarm/Astra - ladas are cool
if you get an autolock (i think thats what its called) it only costs around £60, it covers the entire steering wheel, (plus i got one from ASDA, and it only cost me £39.95, the offer might still be on)
Re: Car Alarm/Astra - Paul Cassell