Ford Mondeo - 1999 Mondeo estate mk ii sudden starter failure - allgoodthings

1999 S reg estate, 103000 miles.

after 2.5 utterly trouble free years, sudden no go. Whirring sound from starter (not a click) and engine will not fire. Battery seems fine (lights good etc).

did move it around the driveway the other day (last time it was moved) which I've never done before, but apart from that nothing unusual. MoT coming up and it doesn't owe us anything, but it has always driven beautifully and started first time.

just put in £30 of petrol....no homestart cover either so would have to pay for a tow.

Haynes manual and online searches not much help. Any ideas most welcome, if only to avoid the difficulty of trying to buy a replacement without a useable car.

Ford Mondeo - 1999 Mondeo estate mk ii sudden starter failure - Collos25

You need to remove the starter motor connect it to a 12v supply and test to see if the starter is throwing the bendix forward this is the part that starts the car .If not you could try and clean it but I think you will end up purchasing a new motor.

Edited by Collos25 on 06/01/2013 at 15:54

Ford Mondeo - 1999 Mondeo estate mk ii sudden starter failure - Peter.N.

I would agree, you could try hitting the starter with a hammer as they can sometimes stick.

Ford Mondeo - 1999 Mondeo estate mk ii sudden starter failure - MrEckerslikefromRamsbottom