Can I still use Uk licence in Uk with foreign car - accordionman

As a UK national now resident in France I may be worrying needlessly but I DO know my Uk driving licence is valid to drive in France without having to exchange it (EU Directive) (presumably until it is due to run out when I have to renew in france) and I also know that it is illegal for a UK resident to drive a foreign car on UK roads(with few exceptions)

I am worried by the fact that though I am not resident in Uk now but have a UK licence still that this MAY cause me aggro with Uk police if stopped during a visit - since it might appear that I am a resident because of my UK licence.

Any kind suggestions,please?

Can I still use Uk licence in Uk with foreign car - Collos25

Is the UK driving licence still address based and as such illegal to use if you do not inform the relevant authorities of your move ,if you go to another EU country you can exchange your UK licence for one of the country you are resident.The directive you are aware of does not cover you if you become a resident of that country and also it does not cover you if you move from the property the licence was issued to as I understand it.I have a German licence which is not address based and as such can be used in any country within the EU.

Can I still use Uk licence in Uk with foreign car - accordionman

Thank you everyone for your comments but the facts are these:

See Fco website (quotes EU Directive)which confirms that you do NOT HAVE to change your UK driving licence for a FRENCH one (other countries esp Spain may be different) but may do so if you wish. The fact that I do not currently wish is connected to my wish to return to Uk to reside if possible in the near future.

My UK licence obviously has the previous permanent address on it. I cannot register a change of address as there is no UK change of address.