rover 420sdi vs mondeo 1.8 td - Big Tone
I am at present looking to buy a new car to replace my 1994 rover 218d. But im stuck between a 1998 rover 420sdi and a 1998 mondeo 1.8.td any good bad points about these cars will be apprieated.
rover 420sdi vs mondeo 1.8 td - DavidHM
So are you buying from Rock Motors Ltd or Hard Place Car Sales?
rover 420sdi vs mondeo 1.8 td - Blue {P}
Hey, lay off the Mondy! It may not have the pinacle of Diesel engines, but the rest of it's a much better car than the Rover! :)

Blue
rover 420sdi vs mondeo 1.8 td - Dereksn51
I had a 98 rover 420sdi for 3 years.Bought it with 26000 on clock-sold it with 60000 on clock last year.The car never missed a beat.Nothing-not even a bulb failed in it.A most underated car-engine imo a little"agricultural" but would cruise all day at 80 and return 50mpg.On advice from my mechanic friend i changed oil and filter every 3000 miles.It never used any oil.I've no experience of mondeo diesels but i'd have another 420 .Good luck in your search and let us know what you decide
Regards
Derek East
Seriously Tone (and I must go to bed now) I don't know what your budget is, and what kind of mileage you're looking at, but...

With a budget of £5k, usedcarsales.net in Stockport have a '99 Passat and a '00 W 406, both with 110 bhp direct injection diesel engines that will be faster, more refined and more economical than the Mondeo, in cars that are streets ahead of the Rover as a package.

Both are a bit leggy, at 90k, but these cars should top 200k if they have received regular maintenance and continue to do so. My preference would probably be for the Passat, but the 406 handles better and is plusher (if not necessarily more luxurious).

I know someone will show up shortly and say "Buy a Japanese car," but I actually like these two and think that a car should inspire at least some positive emotions even if it's not a Lotus Elise.
rover 420sdi vs mondeo 1.8 td - FergusTheDog