Vectra ('01 / Y) SRi 2.2 Cam chain - Azrael
I have recently encountered the dreaded cam problem with my 01'Y' plate SRi. Bought new from a Vauxhall main dealer. Regularly serviced by the same dealer. Covered just under 27K so far (not too excessive, I thought in 18 months).
Still, Saturday 7th December, travelling south on the M6 at 70 with the wife & kids, the whole lot dies on me. no engine response, no power steering, no power assisted brakes....So, I eventually get the thing onto the hard shoulder. The AA come out and tell me there is no compression. I end up paying out 170 quid to a recovery firm (My AA cover only was for roadside rescue). BUT...... and this is the main point.
Can I get my money back from Vauxhall ?
If the car is still under warranty, why do I now need a new engine ? Surely the servicing should know about 20K miles being too long to leave the oil in (I admit, I didn't, but I'm not a mechanic)
I have had no sense out of anyone at Vauxhall, and am seriously considering suing them under the sale of goods act.
Any one else had similar problems, or can offer any advice (I must admit I'm fuming) ?

Ta in anticipation.
Vectra ('01 / Y) SRi 2.2 Cam chain - Dynamic Dave
I'm a tad confused. You say that your AA cover is for roadside rescue; you broke down at the roadside, so why didn't the AA recover you?
My Vectra is a few months older than yours (25 months old), but came with a 3 yr warranty, that also includes 3 yrs AA cover. I would imagine you have pretty much the same deal. Somehow I can't see you getting your £170 recovery money back as you already had Vauxhall (AA) breakdown cover anyway.
Vauxhall specify the chain doesn't need changing for 100,000 miles. I guess you've had it serviced at the correct intervals. If Vauxhall are willing to fit a new engine under warranty, what is the problem?
Vectra ('01 / Y) SRi 2.2 Cam chain - wemyss