Mazda - OIL LIGHT - strobe

I'm a time served mechanic in the trade now 25years and just want to alert all mazda owners to the recurring problem I have seen on many mazda's of blocked oil pickup strainers. The first warning you as the driver will notice is the odd flicker of the oil light often only at higher revs.DO NOT BE TEMPTED TO PASS THIS SYMPTOM OFF AS A GLITCH.... IT IS SERIOUS. Have the sump removed and clean the strainer (after removing it from the oilpump) .If confirmation is required that this is a problem in your case then have the oil pressure tested. If the oil pressure remains low at 1500rpm and above (in some cases pressure has even been observed to drop as the engine rev's increase) then you have a "cloggage". These cars have smaller oil strainers than some of the other manufacturers and this makes them less tolerant of irregular servicing and the consequent carbon deposits that build up in all internal combustion engines

Failure to take action nearly always ends in disaster for the engine ie at best failure of crank bearings and in many cases total siezure

Mazda - OIL LIGHT - Avant

Strobe - many thanks for the warning.

For the benefit of any Mazda drivers, can you tell us if this applies to all Mazda engines, both petrol and diesel?

Mazda - OIL LIGHT - Med

Hi Strobe,

As you seem to know your stuff, would it be possible to ask you a few questions? If you dont mind dropping me an email on contact@mazda-campaign.co.uk i would really appreciate it - if not i could post it on here?

Thanks,

Mehdi

Mazda - OIL LIGHT - KevinS

Too Late

You should get a job at Mazda, as you have the right approach. if they had done what you have done it would have saved (what seems) a lot of heart ach for a lot of Mazda Deisel owners including me.

Everytime I go passed a 2010-12 plate Mazda 6/7 I feel like knocking on the window and telling them. As Mazda Dealers aren't. This is discraceful.