Nissan Micra - Need advice on repairing my car! - hlines

I'm 21 and although I'm a girl, i have some mechanical knowledge and want to do this myself instead of paying at a garage! If anyone can offer me some advice, I'd be very grateful! It is an M reg Micra.

My brakes sound "wierd" so i figured they needed new brake pads, I've taken off the front tyre and turned the wheel so i can see what I'm doing but when i look at it i have no idea where to go from there, It's all very rusty but i can see there are bolts that need to be removed but i cant seem to get the callipers away and dont want to force something thats not meant to move!

Also.. My engine wont start first time anymore, it takes ages to get him going (yes my car is a him, he is called Nigel!) when he does get going he stalls straight away even out of gear with the clutch in, he only keeps going if i give him lots of gas for a whileuntil he's warm. My dad says this could be spark plugs so this is what i intend to fix, any advice for this would be nice! Especially on what tools to use?

Ok last thing! It's been a while since i had him serviced so want to change his oil but dont know where to start! Is it something i can do or will i have to take him somewhere to get it done? Also, what do you do with the oil afterwards?

Thanks in advance!

H

Edited by hlines on 25/03/2010 at 08:39

Nissan Micra - Need advice on repairing my car! - bathtub tom

I'd suggest you buy a Haynes manual (other publishers are also available). That's where many people start. Your local library may even have them.

An experienced friend to look over your shoulder is an invaluable addition.

Nissan Micra - Need advice on repairing my car! - Peter.N.

Good advice.

Nissan Micra - Need advice on repairing my car! - Peter D