Pothole reporting - it works! - JH
I'm pretty sure it was HJ who told us about potholes.co.uk. Well I've reported a chunk of road nearby where half the carriageway is subsiding into a nearby stream. 24 hours later I have an email from the council saying it's been inspected and it will be repaired "within 28 days". Amazing!

It goes without saying that the roads are currently worse than I have ever seen them. If I reported every pot hole on the drive into town I'd come across as somewhat obsessive. But repairs are being made. On one journey I started playing "spot the temporary traffic lights" there were so many holes being patched. At one point there were two men on "Go/Stops". The hole being patched was not going to take long enough to be worth getting the traffic lights out. At another point a workman was working in the middle of a junction filling a hole and - no cones /lights/nothing at all. Well, maybe a hard hat. He obviously didn't expect to be there for long. Of course we might ask how long these repairs will last... I didn't see any rollers or anything similar. But I'm sure the heaviest of the men gave the repair a good jumping on. Cynical - me? :-)

JH

Pothole reporting - it works! - bathtub tom
Yes. I agree.

Someone's put some white paint around those I reported a week ago!
Pothole reporting - it works! - Old Navy
Our council was good with pothole repairs, don't know what they will be like now they have been "snowed under". :-)
Pothole reporting - it works! - redviper
Ive used fixmystreet.com
Local council to me seem to be ok at fixing them, some of them are poorly patched up, others are a good job.
Our council has a defect reporting page on the transportation service part of their website for road defects, duff streetlights, etc. I wonder how much it reduces their inspection costs getting the residents to do the reporting?
ON,