Flying to Barcelona or driving - less C02? - Rattle
Just a poiintless question but one which will trigger debate. We are always told that flying is bad for the environment. So would would be cleaner for the environment two people taking up two seats on a plane or two people in a modern supermini going from say London to Barcelona?

Lets assume that flying requires you to use some sort of transport to get the airports too.

A typical plane would be an Airbus A319 with about 130 seats and a car would be say a FIAT 500. Which is cleaner for the environment?

I have a feeling the car would be cleaner but I have no scitentific knowledge to back that up with.
Flying to Barcelona or driving - less C02? - Old Navy
A Fiat 500 to Barcelona? Are you a masochist?
I've been on 200 mile journeys before as a passanger in an old Fiesta with a cracked wishbone 3 cylinders and no back box. A FIAT 500 would be very comfortable ;).

Remember the alternative is the A319 with budget class seating. Mind you the 500 would take two days longer to get there....

If I had a choice I would just use the train for this journey, although its very expensive. I hate flying so I actually want the car win here. I have no idea which is the cleanest way of getting there.
Flying to Barcelona or driving - less C02? - Alanovich
I have no idea which is the cleanest way of getting there.

We can clearly see here how the priests of the New Religion have succeeded in implanting their beliefs in to our minds and language.

CO2 is not dirty.
Flying to Barcelona or driving - less C02? - b308
Its surprising how good modern Superminis are over long distances these days ON, I've driven over most of Northern Mainland Europe in a Fabia and its a relaxing autobahn cruiser... though it does depend on the engine, I wouldn't have tried it in the 1.2 HTP version!