Suspicious Californian Lexus Crash - edlithgow
Though the investigation is not complete, a carpet jamming the accelerator pedal is the "official" explanation from Toyota for this accident, in which a Lexus accelerated uncontrollably and killed all four occupants. I don't find this explanation convincing, and I am not alone in that.

I have had throttle jamming incidents in two cars. Both the incidents were easily dealt with, and I am not an expert driver.

The driver of this car was a California Highway Patrol veteran, surely an expert driver, yet he was unable to stop or gain control of the car in the time it took for one of his passengers to make what sounds like quite a long 911 call. (The recording available on the web is apparently 50 seconds long)

This implies that the engine could not be shut off, the gearbox could not be put in neutral, the brakes were not effective, and the emergency brake did not work. Though I am not familiar with the Lexus, it is very hard to see how all these functions could be disabled by a carpet.

I?ve seen speculation on the internet that this was a general failure of an integrated drive-by-wire electronic control system, and (though I don?t know the Lexus systems) on the face of it this seems a much more convincing explanation. Since that could be a public relations disaster for Toyota, and perhaps for the industry in general, its perhaps not surprising they would prefer to blame a carpet.

I?ve seen no reports in the ?official? media questioning Toyota?s explanation. I guess Woodward and Birnstein have retired.
Suspicious Californian Lexus Crash - TheOilBurner
You may well be on to something there. I read the report when the recall for the mats was announced and I wasn't convinced that sounded right either.

Certainly, if there is still a problem, it'll soon surface once this mat re-call is complete and that cannot be used as an excuse again.