Buying car privately -car has private plates swap? - hotross
Hi,
I have found a car on ebay which i have won the aution on - the plates on the car read "LH02 ---" but the car is currently on a private plate. The seller says that he has the V5 docs and the car is as described.

Make/model details removed - as its a general question really.

I am a complete novice where it comes to cars and am very nervous of buying a car privately - I have a friend who knows cars who will come to collect the car with me so Im not too worried but dont know what I need to look out for.
The guy says he will change the plates back "when I collect and sign the log book" - My question is, I guess this isnt an instant change, so how can I drive the car home if the plates are going to be changed? Will I be able to insure? Also, what do I need to look for when buying a used car? It is an MX5 2002 1.8 -

Thanks for any advice
Ross

Edited by Pugugly on 21/02/2009 at 22:41

Buying car privately -car has private plates swap? - Rattle
You have bought the car now so its a bit late to be asking questions.

Anyway my friend bought a car with private plates and I seem to remember them being a week or so delay before she could pick the car up because of the plate transfer.
Buying car privately -car has private plates swap? - RobertyBob
As Rattle says, it's it bit late now, you have effectively bought the car. All you can do is make sure that it is exactly as described in the auction.

With regard to the registration, my understandig is that you buy the car with the registration as described on the V5. If the vendor wishes to retain the private reg then he will have to get the registration updated before he completes the sale.

Was it clear that the private plate was not included as part of the deal?

Edited by RobertyBob on 21/02/2009 at 16:53

Buying car privately -car has private plates swap? - ohsoslow