Buying advice - model? - Chris White
Hello,

I'm thinking of changing my vehicle for a petrol Vauxhall Zafira, I have up to £3k to spend and am after opinion on best combination of engine and gearbox for reliability. Don't mind manual or automatic.

I do mostly town work but with the odd long journey. I'm a gigging musician and like the fact that the Zafira isn't that big on the outside but all the seats fold down to give me a big flat load area.

For around £2k I can get a 1.6 litre with 60-70k miles and FSH but if I spend my budget of £3k I can get a 2.2 litre with same mileage and history.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks, Chris.
Buying advice - model? - SpamCan61 {P}
Check out the cbcb:-

www.honestjohn.co.uk/carbycar/index.htm?md=429

SWMBO has an X plate manual 1.8 ( 125 bhp not 110 of the earlier ones), a good combination of performance and economy, other than the gearing is a bit low for motorway cruising.
Buying advice - model? - Chris White
Thanks, I've checked the cbcb, and was after some views from forum members :-)

How long have you owned yours and has it been reliable?
We've had this one 4 years, bought at 4 years old with 80K on it, now on 115K. It's a 1.8 manual elegance, actually registered as an Opel, presumably previous owner bought it at a car supermarket or suchlike.

Other than consumables it's had a new starter motor, oxygen sensor and throttle valve body has been cleaned out. The check control system has just started playing up, but that's hardly essential anyway.

IMHO the 1.6 is likely to feel underpowered, especially when carrying a significant load. I've had 7 people in the 1.8 Zaf, yes I knew it was heavily laden, but it still drove fine. Economy wise it varies from around 31 mpg per tank when used in winter on the school run ( i.e. now) to 40 mpg on long runs to Cornwall, fully laden.