7.5t driver - Future employment options? - Dave_TD
Hi all,

I have been driving for a living since my early 20?s and currently work for a medium size general haulage firm (approx 20 vehicles) in the East Midlands. All of the drivers have just been balloted on our second pay cut in 4 months and talk is of redundancies if things don?t pick up soon. The amount of work has dropped by 30-40% this year, simply because our existing customers aren?t spending the money. We have no obvious ties to any particular sector of industry however so the slowdown in new-build housing etc isn?t having a savage effect on us, but rising fuel costs are biting hard.

If the worst happens and I do lose my job, what other possibilities are open to me? I?m a very good, experienced truck driver (I hope!) but if no-one?s recruiting truck drivers good or otherwise, what are my other options? I'm literate, numerate, polite and well-presented with a clean licence, 8 GCSE's and a willingness to learn new skills.

Thanks in advance,

Edited by Webmaster on 21/09/2008 at 13:38

7.5t driver - Future employment options? - Pugugly
Police are recruiting again.

www.policecouldyou.co.uk/
7.5t driver - Future employment options? - Hamsafar
Employment by the state is your best bet during this 'modern' times.
7.5t driver - Future employment options? - doctorchris
Employment by the state at present offers the best job security and pensions.
However, the dead hand of the state means that initiative and individuality will go unrecognised and unrewarded. Only the plodding, yes men and women who toe the party line will thrive.
7.5t driver - Future employment options? - Avant
I do sympathise, particularly as this whole nonsense isn't an unavoidable act of God but the result of a combination of greed and incompetence by a whole lot of people whose jobs are probably less at risk, at least in the short term, than yours.