1997 1.3 idle and drive issues - Dillio
Hello guys and girls,

This is my first time posting on this forum, so apologies if I've got anything wrong.

I'm having a nightmare of a time with this Fiesta and I've lost faith in my mechanic (family friend so I can?t be too harsh on him).

Symptoms the car is showing:
1) The car idles at a higher rpm. About 960rpm according to the pcm reader. And this doesn?t problem doesn't disappear once the engine has heated up.
2) There is a small stutter when pulling away in first or second gear.
3) The throttle is sticking in-between gear changes i.e. coming out of gear at 3000rpm, the revs will stay there even if the car is put into neutral. The only way I've been able to get it down is using the clutch in a higher gear or waiting until it drops - but you look like an idiot if you wait for the latter.
4) This one is intermittent. Whilst travelling at any speed, the engine will stutter intermittent. The stutter causes the car to lose acceleration and power, such like if the turbo was broken on a diesel. Increasing the throttle only causes the stutter to get worse; eventually the power does come back. Or I have to put the car into neutral and use full throttle until full revs come back. It?s almost as if the engine was seizing or fuel mixture running way too rich; the latter of which explains why increasing the throttle worsens the problem!
5) On disconnecting the throttle position sensor, the idle drops 100 rpm to about 860 rpm, but symptom 2) becomes a lot more noticeable and if you come off the accelerator fast enough, the engine cuts out.

Solutions that have been tried:
1) Sprayed the intake with carb cleaner with little change
2) Fitted a new Idle Control Value with no change
3) Fitted a new Throttle Position Sensor with no change

Any ideas on what it could be?? Thanks in advance :)

Regards,
Dil

Edited by Dynamic Dave on 13/09/2008 at 13:04

99 1.3 Idle and Drive Issue - Screwloose
Dil