1987 300SL- running rough - Mikeym1
Hi,
My friend owns a 1987 Mercedes 300SL. During startup (cold or warm) the car is difficult to start, then hunts for a few seconds before sorting itself out. The car also very harsh
during speeds of 40 - 50 miles an hour but if ran in sports mode it seems o.k.
Someone advised the head needs rebuilding due to blown gasket at £2000. I have checked for water from the exhaust and in the oil but there is no trace (although I haven't ruled it out) and added a component called K-seal just in case. Someone also advised the harshness at 40 mph is due to a wheel baring. I am considering checking the plugs, filter and wheel baring this weekend. Although I have some mechanical experience I do not know a lot about these cars. I think this model has a carburettor fitted. I was thinking it could be a choke problem? Any advise please?
Mike.

Edited by Pugugly on 23/05/2008 at 18:58

1987 300SL- running rough - Screwloose
Mike

It's Bosch KE-Jetronic electro-mechanical injection. Check the cold-start injector is functioning at initial cranking; but resist the temptation to adjust anything - these systems are not forgiving....

Define "harsh?" Noise; vibration; from where?
1987 300SL- running rough - Mikeym1
There seems to be lack of power during those speeds and there seems to be some vibration dues to this. I can only describe the lack of power like the handbrake has been applied on and the car is struggling to pick up speed. I would probably be able to give more detail if I drove the car.

Edited by Mikeym1 on 23/05/2008 at 19:23

1987 300SL- running rough - Screwloose

Could be a misfire; I've seen a lot of distributor cap troubles on those. If all the obvious things, plugs, leads etc. are OK; have a good look at the cap.
1987 300SL- running rough - Number_Cruncher
>>Could be a misfire; I've seen a lot of distributor cap troubles on those. If all the obvious things, plugs, leads etc. are OK; have a good look at the cap.