2005 1.4 petrol - Engine Cut Out - aejpup
We recently bought this car and have noticed that the engine intermittently cuts out. This has happened 4 or 5 times and is always at low speed - i.e. when stopping in traffic etc. It doesn't stall, just loses power completely. As we use the car mostly in London, this is going to be a pain if it continues! The rev counter is very low, seems to hover around the "5" mark and then suddenly plummets and that's it, engine off. Otherwise great and seems to be OK when cruising at steady speed. Any advice - oh, and please, I am not technical at all so answers in "idiot speak" would be greatly appreciated!! Thank you.

{typo in subject header amended. I presume you meant 1.4 and not 4.1?}

Edited by Dynamic Dave on 05/03/2008 at 12:31

2005 1.4 Polo - Engine Cut Out - maltrap
petrol or diesel?
2005 1.4 Polo - Engine Cut Out - aejpup
Sorry, it's petrol {added to header}

Edited by Dynamic Dave on 05/03/2008 at 12:32

2005 1.4 petrol - Engine Cut Out - Screwloose

Get the throittle plate and the inside of the throttle housing cleaned to spotless and then get the base idle adaptions re-done by someone with suitable equipment.
1.4 petrol - low tickpver and stalling. - aejpup
Car is fine at steady speeds but not good in heavy traffic when you are stopping and starting all the time. It's particularly bad in this situation if you are going up a hill or approaching a roundabout. The rev counter is very low and the engine keeps just stopping completely. It's not stalling but it just switches itself off in certain situations - you have to work pretty hard to keep the engine running.

Taken it to two garages:

1) first one was not a VW garage but said he could see something was wrong but was unable to fix it as he thought it related to the computer system and only a VW main dealer could fix it. (He thought it might need a PCM upgrade).