2001 2.0 HDI (110) - Battery drain - mwcitroen
Hi everyone, this is my first time putting a posting on the forum. I have a problem with my 2001 Xantia Hdi. Something is draining the battery over about 2 days.
This appears to be through the 15amp main relay circuit fuse under the bonnet. When you remove the fuse there is not battery drain but you cannot start the car. The main ECU double relay has been replaced along with the glow plug relay but still the drain occurs.
Putting a meter on it its draws 0.6amp constantly when the ignition is off. Does anyone have any ideas what this could be as it has been to a local garage 3 times and they cannot fault it.
This seemed to happen when the battery was replaced just before Christmas and is still an ongoing problem. You can also hear the current running through the main loom on the front of the engine to the relay/ECU.
Can anyone help?

Edited by Webmaster on 02/03/2008 at 20:40

2001 2.0 HDI (110) - Battery drain - Screwloose
mw

Is there only one 15 A fuse in the engine box? How can you hear the current running? What happens when you unplug the fuel pressure regulator?
2001 2.0 HDI (110) - Battery drain - Collos25
Have you tried isolating further by going through the individual fuses ,normally a light staying on ,or the alarm, or maybe a faulty alternator.
Many thanks for your reply screwloose. After looking at the Haynes book to find out where the pressure regulator was I checked this out tonight. The regulator is on the back of the fuel pump being driven by the crank pulley?? (just to check I have the right unit)
Anyway I have checked the 15amp fuses under the bonnect-there is only 1 and thats the one I have taken out in the past to stop the drain.
Your advice about unplugging the regulator connection from the fuel pump seemed to do something. The drain noise is like a buzzing in the wiring loom. When I disconnect the connector on the regulator the noise dramatically reduces or disappears.