Filtering on a motor bike - Clanger
I suppose I've been lucky in that I've been motorcycling for 5 years and never filtered up a dual carriageway in anger until yesterday. What a disappointing and risky experience. Traffic was moving at walking pace towards an accident (I found out later) on the A1 south in North Yorkshire. I joined at Catterick and sped down to the A684 at Leeming and a load of brake lights. I chose to filter between the two lanes of traffic and cruised at no more than 15 mph when I wasn't being baulked or pinched. I was surprised by the amount of obstructive driving and plain lack of attention by other motorists. Some seemed to resent me making progress while they couldn't and took the opportunity to move as close to the adjacent car as possible. Many moved left without checking their mirrors and without indicating. We are all used to poor driving, we see it whenever we use a vehicle, and I'm not an experienced filterer but I felt that there was an unusually strong concentration of the hard of understanding, the short-sighted and the plain bloody-minded; or am I just being paranoid? Do any of you deliberately obstruct motorcyclists from filtering? If so, why?

At the next exit I and many others took to the back roads where I was able to make much more satisfactory progress. And I wasn't even late for work :-)

Edited by Dynamic Dave on 25/02/2008 at 12:33

Filtering on a motor bike - Susukino
"I felt that there was an unusually strong concentration of the hard of understanding, the short-sighted and the plain bloody-minded"

Pretty common in my experience. I was once filtering at little more than walking pace down a line of traffic in London, think it was on or near the Embankment. I was on the outside of the outer of two or three lanes. As I trickled past a car near the head of the queue someone craned round and shouted at me "do you HAVE to do that?!". I remember that his voice was rather plummy and I recall the tone of anger very clearly.