First Car - dcp11Oc
Hey. I need some advice regarding a first time buyer for a motorcar.
I am a student studying full-time. However, I do not recieve this "EMA" which I think is a joke so my money will be even more stretched. I feel bad asking my parents for £10 a week to cover lunch and money aside for books etc.

Anyway, I am currently learning to drive and I will need to acquire some transportation. I have been asking around at College for which they think in their opinion they render the most reliable car. However, some suggestions are that a Vauxhall Corsa 1200c.c. Diesel is in order.

I ask what do you suggest and how to proceed further.
My father has suggested to start with "an old banger"; but in my opinion I think it will be long-term more efficient if I can buy a half-decent car so I don't need to spend a lot of money on repairs etc.

I was hoping not to go above £2,000 - is this a reasonable amount?
My life savings consist of less than four times that but I would like to put it towards other things. Perhaps make more money from that one day.

Thank you for any suggestions.
First Car - oldnotbold
Dads are old and grey for a reason - experience. £2,000 is a really horrible amount to spend on a car. You stand very little chance of getting a more reliable car than if you spend £500-£750, but if the big bills hit, you have to spend the money on the £2k car, because you've got £2k tied up in it. A £500 car can, as a last resort, be scrapped, if it's going to cost a lot to keep running.

Diesels can be good, but only if you really expect to do lots of miles, ie more than 15,000 a year. A small petrol car will do almost as many mpg, and petrol is very slightly cheaper.