Female needs HELP in buying car - dazzle
Sorry to pull the female line but this one of the things I hate - car buying (having been ripped off before).
My car has just been written off after a motorway accident (not my fault).
I need to buy this month or first week of new year.
I have a budget of up to at a stretch 6K. Will only get about £1K back for written off car.
I do a fair bit of motorway driving currently around 2000 miles per month (up to 40000) so would like a diesel. (intend to drive it into the ground)
I find smallish cars - fiestas, yaris, clio uncomfortable on long drives and after my crash would find them a little flimsy.
Have armed myself with parkers guide and what car but find it all quite confusing. Please can someone give advice on:

Type of car to go for
Best time to buy
How to research
Anything else i need to know

I find the whole car buying thing awful and the carsalesmens attitudes tend to stink and I have no knowledgeable male or female to help. I would be grateful for your help.
Female needs HELP in buying car - Blue {P}
Sorry to hear of your accident Dazzle, and welcome to the forum!

Bear with us as you may find that this thread fils up quite quickly with a few conflicting opinions, but ultimately there will be some good ideas here somewhere!

My own advice would be nothing smaller than a Focus, Astra or Golf sized car, but I personally would go for something the size of a Mondeo or Vectra.

I'm not sure exactly what your other priorities apart from comfort and strength are so I'll start with a couple of suggestions and then once we've pinned it down to something I would suggest going into more detail;

Volvo S60 - Extremely comfortable and well made cars, the only problem is for £6K you'd be getting one that was already well and truly run-in.