Clutch snatching - Pablo23
I've been driving for over 10 years, including various vehicles from work without any problems. I recently acquired a Mondeo III but, can't get used to the clutch!! it stalls very easily when setting off, it needs at least 2000 revs, and changing gear is as smooth as driving over a speed bump unless I ride the clutch. No other car I've driven is anything like this; is this a characteristic or a mechanical problem? (still got 2 months on the warranty!)
Clutch snatching - cheddar
Is it a diesel, if so it takes s little getting used to, to balance stalling against taking off at full boost that being said I got used to mine in a matter of days and have probably only stalled it hald a dozen times in nearly 125k miles.

Worth asking the dealer about if under warranty (though if clutch wear usually not covered by warranty).

Edited by cheddar on 29/11/2007 at 09:23

Clutch snatching - kithmo
The TDCi has a second spring on the clutch pedal, to make it less effort to press, due to diesel clutches being heavier. The problem is however that, to most people, the point where the spring assist comes in and the spring cushioning on the Dual mass Flywheel feels like the point of clutch contact and results in a strange feel to the clutch, a bit like having 2 contact points. This results in a snatchy clutch and takes some getting used to. I find that always setting off in 1st gear (even where you would normally use 2nd) helps.
After driving the TDCi I now find that when I am driving other cars their clutch feels like it's slipping until I get used to it.
P.S. It's smoother with the Aircon off as well.
-----------------------------------------------
2005 Ford Mondeo Zetec 2.0 TDCi 130ps
Clutch snatching - TurboD
or you could be ready for a new DNF/clutch £900?
better check now- but probably not covered by warranty
Clutch snatching - Collos25