99 Megane - fog lights on when braking - RobJ29A
Hello all, I'm a first time poster, but a long time reader.

I've just been out in my 1999 Megane hatch, and the first time I have used it in the dark for ages. When braking the rear fog light telltail dimly lights up on the dash - indicating the fog lights are "sort of" on. I've asked the missus to press the brakes while I've had a look 'round the back of the car but I can't tell really if they are on or not. I'll take the brake/side bulbs out tomorrow when I have time (and when I can see what I'm doing!) and then check again. It looks like an earthing problem to me - the thing is I have zero experience with auto electrical stuff, is this likely to be something that's relatively painless to sort or is it a garage job? Is it worth pointing out that the car has a towbar as I was wondering if the towing electrics might have something to do with it?

I appreciate any advice & guidance you may have.

Rob
Megane - fog lights on when braking - Screwloose
Rob

If the rest of the rear lights don't go dim, [or flash with the indicators/reverse lights etc.] then it could well be a short in the 7-pin socket. [They corrode.]

To eliminate the socket; follow the cable up and disconnect the red [brake] wire; or the blue [or purple on a cut-out socket] fog light wire.

Or if the fog/brake lights are in the hatch [are they?] then it could be a broken wire to the hatch.
Megane - fog lights on when braking - elekie&a/c doctor
I would think you have bad earth connections to the rear light clusters.Remove the multi-plugs to the light units and check the contacts and plastic connector blocks for signs of burning/overheating.If there is evidence of this ,then a seperate earth wire can be installed out of the multiplug onto the lampholder circuit board.hth
Megane - fog lights on when braking - Big John
I agree, this is a classic symptom of a bad earth on the rear light cluster(s).
Megane - fog lights on when braking - RobJ29A