Who makes the best small diesel engine? - hca
My old Punto is nearly dead so I am looking to replace it with a small diesel car for my daily commute to work (50 miles a day mostly on the motorway).

I don't have much cash so will probably have to buy a high mileage used car. Question is who makes the best small diesel engine in terms of longevity?

My initial thoughts are either a 1.4Hdi Citroen C3 or a 1.5Dci Renault Clio or Megane. How many miles can I expect these engines to last for?

Thanks
Who makes the best small diesel engine? - PhilW
"1.5Dci Renault Clio "
No!
www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/post/index.htm?f=4&t=50...2
But sons 1.4HDi C2 has been faultless in 3 years and gives tremendous economy. Build quality of C3s might be questionable judging from previous posts on here, though I have no experience.
You might get good economy from cars using the 1.6HDi (my Berlingo, with brick like aerodynamics averages 50 mpg.
See
www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/post/index.htm?t=51193&...f
--
Phil
Who makes the best small diesel engine? - GregSwain
Given a choice I'd opt for either the Fiat/GM Multijet 1.3 unit, or the Kia/Hyundai 1.5 unit. IMO the 2 best diesels around at the minute - certainly better than any French attempt at small CR diesel engines. The demise of decent small French diesels happened when PSA stopped offering small cars with the normally-aspirated XUD engine. Apparently the VAG 1.4TDi PD isn't bad, but it does sound dreadful because it's only a 3-cylinder.

If I were asked to name the worst small diesel I'd choose Renault's 1.5DCi. Can't think of any other small diesel with as many reliability issues, least of all a recurring fault which could cost the owner thousands of pounds in the engine's lifetime.
Who makes the best small diesel engine? - PoloGirl