03 1.4 16v ECU failure - Alan-FC
Hi,

C3 Diesel 1.4, 16v HDi, 92hp. 3 yrs 10mths old 55K miles, looked after, shell diesel fuel only etc.

Citroen UK are 99% certain that the ecu has gone duff. £852 inc vat for a new one!

After my protestations that the ecu is not exactly a 'service item' and should reasonably be expected to last longer, CUK have agreed a 33% goodwill offer discount on parts and labour. I don't think this is enough. I think its pretty poor that CUK are still looking to make a profit on this one, they must ship these things in for £200 or so max.

PS the coil spring on the nearside front snapped with an almighty racket as I was driving on a normal metalled road 3 weeks ago! I've been driving for 30 years in all sorts of sheds but I have never had a coil spring snap or an ecu go, and for all this to happen to the same car in 1 month. Am I just lucky or could I be excused for thinking that the car is a croc?

Based on this, I can never recommend that anyone buys a C3 1.4, 16v diesel, after all the whole point in buying a car like this is for economical motoring.

The symptoms are like trying to start a petrol car with no choke from cold, crank it for ages, tickle the pedal until it eventually catches and starts up in a cloud of white smoke and sounds like a bag of nails with hesitation and cutting out until it warms up.

BTW, no complaints with the main dealer service.

Should I consider myself lucky that I got some concession from Citroen or would it be fair to say that the ecu (and the coil spring) were not fit for purpose as they are not designed to be replaced in such a short time?

all opinions gratefully received.

Ta.

Edited by Pugugly on 16/04/2008 at 00:08

Citroen C3 ECU failure - LeePower
Coil spring failure is a well known issue on the C3.

Not heard of many ecu failures.
Citroen C3 ECU failure - Screwloose
Alan