Length of time 'till first MOT. - Imagos
Processed an extremely tatty 2005 '05 reg Passat today with 17k up so ready for disposal. What shocked me though was the state the car had got itself into.

All tyres worn with front two nearly bald on inside edges, cracked rear lense and chipped and cracked windscreen.

I'm not an expert but i'm sure all these points would fail a MOT test. As this vehicle will most likely end up at auction 'without' any of these faults repaired the new buyer could easily use it for another 2 years with MOT failure issues even before requiring a test.

So why is the 3 year until first test requirement still in force?

The MOT business has been thoroughly overhauled recently with computerized certificates etc so why has the 3 year rule remained unchanged for years?

I'm sure that like this nearly year old Passat there are plenty of other 1, 2, year old vehichles that are sure fire failures.

Why not a 12 month from new compulsery test?
Length of time 'till first MOT. - bell boy
Because it would be system overload for mot stations.
--
\"a little man in a big world/\"
Length of time 'till first MOT. - henry k
Because it would be system overload for mot stations.

>>
Initially this would be true but I feel sure there are a few more reasons against it.

A few situations that would be improved on.
Stories of fleet suppliers reluctant to change tyres etc.
Extended maintenance plans can mean longer periods with faults not actioned.
Road warriors who do big mileages that very probably cause a significant wear n tear on lots of components.

I am totally in favour of moving towards a MoT from 1 year old.
It would help identify examples like from a current thread.
"An Audi TT 18 months old with 14K on the clock has corroded front disks - not worn but rusted."

Or the significant number of newish cars with faulty lights.

With so many user not interested in safety it is logical to move the MOT forward to scoop up younger cars.