Ultimate prat? - GT
In discussion with someone recently, I was recommended to try BP Ultimate Diesel in my Passat V6 TDi. I stopped at a BP garage on Friday, in a bit of a rush, pulled up at the pumps, grabbed the "Ultimate" nozzle, and started to fill up. Imagine my delight to discover after about £25-worth that I was filling up with Ultimate UNLEADED! £250 of repair / car hire later, I'm mulling over whether it's me, or BP's naming convention. In my defence, I've been driving for 35 yrs and for the last 10, one of our two cars has been diesel, I always fill up both cars and have never made the cardinal error. It's not like I didn't know I needed diesel this time either. Why does BP need to share the "Ultimate" name across both diesel and petrol? Does Shell do Optimax Diesel, for example? Has anyone else fallen foul of this? Is there any likelihood BP might generously go someway towards my costs (probably two chances of this .... slim and fat, but worth asking).
Ultimate prat? - Sprice
Not familiar with BP stations as theyre all Texaco round my way, but dont BP use a different colour coding system for their pumps, such as blue for superunleaded etc?
Ultimate prat? - wantone
yeah
bp ultimate in my area uses a red nozzle.
mind you i always treble check that its ultimate diesel(not unleaded)that im putting in. saying that i have only had a diesel car for six months so probably still being careful!!
Ultimate prat? - mare
There's a very strong for all the fuel companies adopting the same colours for the different fuels e.g green for unleaded, black for diesel. It can be easy to get caught out when you're in a hurry
Ultimate prat? - Obsolete
There's a very strong for all the fuel companies adopting the
same colours for the different fuels e.g green for unleaded, black
for diesel. It can be easy to get caught out when
you're in a hurry