Peugeot 406 rear wheel bearing - Robin the Technician
Just visited by local Pug agent to get a set of rear wheel bearings (drum brake) for my 1999 406 diesel estate . I was told that you can't change the bearings but you have to replace the complete hub at circa £130 + vat. Is this right?? As a Technician I fail to see why these bearings can't be changed. Anyone had any experience of these and can the bearings be changed?? I suspect that Peugeot are trying it on.
Your divine assistance and advice is appreciated.

--
These are the views of Robin the Technician with 35 years in the trade. I fix, therefore I am...
Peugeot 406 rear wheel bearing - Reggie
The N/S/L wheel bearings on mine are whine slightly, (mines a disc with a drum handbrake), and when I made enquiries was told the same, although I think that I was quoted about £85 for the hub (with the bearings in situ).
As the noise is barely discernable and there is no play apparent, and as it has not deteriorated for some months, I am not going to intervene yet, although I would be interested if you find that they can be changed "the old fashioned way".

Reggie
Peugeot 406 rear wheel bearing - Reggie
That is the N/S/L/ rear.
Reggie
Peugeot 406 rear wheel bearing - cholin
Don't have my Mr. Haynes to hand but does he have any views on the matter? In view of the response from two dealers might there be a difficulty in obtaining the bearings separatly?
Peugeot 406 rear wheel bearing - Civic8
Dont know if this will help
www.pugspares.co.uk/PartsSearchResults.asp?PugIDNo...o

worth a try I think. sorry if useless
--
Steve
Peugeot 406 rear wheel bearing - Number_Cruncher
Robin, I agree, there should be provision for the bearing to be changed. As far as I am aware, this is a growing trend, with manufacturers getting the hub and bearing assembly as one part.

Hopefully, the aftermarket will get involved, supply a cheaper fix, and bring the makers back to their senses.

number_cruncher
Peugeot 406 rear wheel bearing - DL