seized track rod end - vw passat - malk
i\'m trying to unscrew track rod end to replace the steering wheel gaiter on my vw passat, but its well seized.

i\'ve spayed with wd40 over last 2days, managed to strip the nut moulding on the track rod, refiled to tightly fit a pair of twelve mm spanners encased in a stationary metal pole. 12 adustable spanner on track rod end (anticlockwise) only resulted in a broken 12mm spanner.

Should i wait for the oil to penetrated or use some heat or what?

Any ideas much appreciated.

Malc
seized track rod end - Crinkly Dave
had a similar problem with the daughter's Punto (M Reg) which scrubbed a couple of tyres in her hands. Local independent (very good) had a try with spanners and stilsons, and said the next measure was heat (oxy-acetlene) which they frankly didn't want to do because of the danger of damaging the join.
I have some experience of this, and a few pairs of stilsons, but after use of them and enough heat (you can apply it rapidly with oxy-acetlyne, and keep the track rod joint itself cool with water) decided I was getting to the point where I thought there was danger of effecting the track rod joint, or even the rack.
I decided to scrap the track rod ends, and bought a new pair. Using the new ones as a pattern I ground into the joint just clear of the end of the threaded rod of the track rod, and put Plus Gas in there, so it could really soak into the thread from a pool of lubricant. When this didn't work I carefully ground along the body of the joint until I could just see the thread appearing. Use of the oxy-acetylene flame along this surface caused it to fail, without damaging the threaded bar.
Even then, after another soaking in plus gas, it was a pig to unscrew after 8-9 years.
Frankly, unless you have the gear, it is probably worth taking it to someone with it, and get tell them they can scrap the joint
seized track rod end - malk
thank you all esp. crinkly dave
it was the track rod end that was seized.