Volkswagen Golf - MK6 Golf - Purchasing Query - Dcoa93

Hi All,

I am currently looking to spend around £5K on a VW Golf - due to budget, this will be a MK6. Golf, typically between the years of 2009 to 2011. I would like to upgrade it in a few years, to a newer model. Generally speaking due to the above and the current market, this will have approx 100K miles on the clock.

What I am struggling with however, is what model to choose for my circumstances.

A bit about myself: I am a new driver, passed in June 2021. I am a 28 year old male, have a son (2 years old) and soon to have another child (partner is pregnant). I need the car for commuting to work, which is 18 miles each way, 3 to 4 days a week. This is combination of A roads, B roads and a bit of city driving (2 miles). I anticipate driving 10-12.5K miles a year, mostly on the above roads (rural North Yorkshire). There won't be a great deal of motorway driving.

I would like at a minimum the SE/Match Spec, as the S is very basic on a Mark 6 Golf. There is also the GT for both. This rules out the 1.2 Petrol TSI car.

As such, I am looking at the 1.4 Petrol TSI, 1.6 Diesel TDI, 2.0 Diesel TDI, and the reliability/cost of running or ownership versus the quality of the car/drive to my needs and circumstances. In general, I think the 2.0 TDI and the 1.4 Petrol seem the best two choices, but thought I would also include the 1.6 TDI. The 6 speed gear box on the two larger engines, seems useful too.

Taxation is £30 for the 1.6 TDI, £130 for the 2.0 TDI and £170 for the 1.4 TSI.

Insurance is very similar for all 3 cars, even on the 140 BHP 2.0 TDI and 160 BHP 1.4 TSI Petrol.

Fuel costs are about £400.00 more a year on the 1.4 TSI petrol, based on current costs and HJ real world MPG figures (10K miles a year).