VW Passat - Do I need to Replace Battery? - ap87

Hi all, so i've been working from home for a few months now so not using the car as much, just the odd trip to the shop and back, nothing more than 15-20 minutes. I then went to start it over the weekend after a couple of days in the freezing cold and although it started first time, it chugged a little bit and took a good few seconds to finally start.

I checked voltage of the battery the next morning after sitting all day and it was 11.8 at the time and then when starting the car the cranking voltage dropped to around 9 then back up to over 14.

Is it just the cold thats not helping here and if I take it out for a proper driveevery now and then, can I still live with this battery for many more months to come if I keep an eye on it?

Its a stop start model so you are looking at £150+ for a new battery, something I could do without buying at the moment unless really needed.

VW Passat - Do I need to Replace Battery? - RT

It'll be a combination of reduced usage and the cold weather - get yourself a decent smart charger, eg CTEK MXS 3.8 or CTEK MXS 5.0 and charge it for 24 hours once a month - cheaper than a new battery and will last much longer.

VW Passat - Do I need to Replace Battery? - edlithgow

It'll be a combination of reduced usage and the cold weather - get yourself a decent smart charger, eg CTEK MXS 3.8 or CTEK MXS 5.0 and charge it for 24 hours once a month - cheaper than a new battery and will last much longer.

IF you have to choose one of them, the 3.8 is perhaps a better bet.

There are plausible (IMO) reports of corner cutting on the CTEK MXS 5.0, though they might have fixed it by now.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=xeTJTzKRUy0

Discussion near the end of this thread

www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/post/137525/battery-cha...r--