Toyota Yaris - Y reg getting back on the road ? - HGV ~ P Valentine

Hello,

I am looking at buying a Y reg Toyota Yaris that has not moved in at least 18 Mths, and simply doing it up myself ( even though I am not a mechanic ), it has not had tax or mot for 18 mths but I have looked at the mot history and it is not to bad over the last 12 years.

The owner is asking 150 quid for it, but that is negotiable.

2 questions ...

1 . Is it even worth doing up

2 . Is £ 150 quid a fair price.

There are only a few scratches on the body work, and cannot see anything obviously wrong with the look of it. It has pretty good mileage for the year.

Toyota Yaris - Y reg getting back on the road ? - elekie&a/c doctor
You can’t really can’t go wrong with one of these , even at £150 or less . But before you splash your cash , I would book it into a garage for an mot test . At least they will advise you if it’s an economic proposition .
Toyota Yaris - Y reg getting back on the road ? - thunderbird

I may be out of date but as far as I am aware the only time it is legal to drive a car on the road without a current MOT is to a garage for a pre booked MOT test. Further to that I am pretty sure it has to be the nearest garage from where you set off from and not the nearest garage to your home. If it fails on a serious issue it is not legal to drive it on the road thus your only option would be to either dump it at the garage, allow them to fix it or get a transporter to take it to your preferred location.

It could easilly turn into a money pit.

Plus you have not given any info about your DIY ability.

No you are right about the mot, it has to be pre booked and local. My mechanical knowledge is very limited it will be a project for me, and I will have to seek advice on most of it. In short I would not call myself a mechanic, at all.

Toyota Yaris - Y reg getting back on the road ? - edlithgow