Suzuki Baleno - 'Tis the season for contemplation - joegrundy

I recently posted about buying a £650 Leon Tdi as a stopgap after my x type expired. (And received much helpful advice).

During yet another cold and rainy day I contemplated the prospect of working on the car to sort out the (common on these) water ingress problems and the ongoing get the engine running right issues. I don't have a garage and find that my back plays up after a short time bent over the engine. I am not very technically skilled.

I am considering giving up the unequal struggle and buying a newer car, specifically a Baleno. These caught my eye when they first came out. They've now been discontinued, of course, and there are what seem to me to be reasonably priced examples about.

Specifically, I've seen a 2016 1.0 boosterjet with about 25k miles for just under £7k. It would seem to fit he bill - small but big enough for me, fast enough, economical, good for long distances, good reputation, etc. The reviews and the long term HJ review are encouraging. Also unfashionable enough to be sensibly priced. I have a local main dealer.

I now accept the fact that I don't enjoy fiddling about with cars any more and really just want reliability and something that fits my modest needs.

I am very tempted by this car. It seems a reasonable compromise between the old and the daft brand new PCP cycle.

Be grateful for thoughts/experiences.

Suzuki Baleno - 'Tis the season for contemplation - Andrew-T

I can't tell you anything useful about this car, Joe, but I know Suzuki has a decent reputation, and I sympathise with the reasons you list. I do have a garage, but like many others it was built to the 1970 specified dimensions so is useless for working in except at the nose end. If the Baleno you have found passes the recommended buyer's examination, go ahead. It should be a good time of year to buy from a dealer.

Suzuki Baleno - 'Tis the season for contemplation - bazza