What if I can't have a home charging point? - Bells House Bob

Hi All

Apologies up front for what will seem very basic questions, but I am new to the EV scene and even newer to the forum.

The time has come to replace my 2013 diesel Audi A6 Avant, and I want to be cleaner around town so am looking at getting an EV of some sort. Sensibly I have started with looking into a home charging point, as I live in a first floor flat in a rural manor house, but have been told by 3 providers that as we don't have a designated parking space written into our flat lease, they can't install anything. Is that true? I'm not going to start spending money on a solicitors bill to amend all the leases for our house, just so I can occasionally charge a car.

So, am I now only able to look at 'self charging' EVs, or can I run a plug-in hybrid purely by using the petrol motor to recharge on longer journeys?

I love the idea of less polution, but am struggling with the real world application, so suggestions / educational comments are welcome.

Thanks.

What if I can't have a home charging point? - Engineer Andy

Hi All

Apologies up front for what will seem very basic questions, but I am new to the EV scene and even newer to the forum.

The time has come to replace my 2013 diesel Audi A6 Avant, and I want to be cleaner around town so am looking at getting an EV of some sort. Sensibly I have started with looking into a home charging point, as I live in a first floor flat in a rural manor house, but have been told by 3 providers that as we don't have a designated parking space written into our flat lease, they can't install anything. Is that true? I'm not going to start spending money on a solicitors bill to amend all the leases for our house, just so I can occasionally charge a car.

So, am I now only able to look at 'self charging' EVs, or can I run a plug-in hybrid purely by using the petrol motor to recharge on longer journeys?