Ford C-MAX 1.5 tdci 2015 - OBD 2 "engine service now" message - profixit

I bought a ford C Max 1.5 tdci titanium 2015. Stop/start. No key.
Done 300 miles in it with no problems, I did notice the battery wasn't holding charge for very long.
I replaced the battery with the same type.
Making sure I disconnected the positive terminal first, before disconnecting any other wires or sensors.
It took over an hour, taking my time and being careful.

Switching on the ignition I now get a engine warning message.
Engine Service Now.
Followed by
"tank empty _ _ _ miles"

It won't start.

Questions I have.

Is this a normal occurrence when changing battery.

Could codes have been cleared by previous owner. Only to come back after battery disconnect.

I've ordered a OBD 2 reader(Genuine elm327 interface)

Will I be able to read the errors in detail.

After errors check, is it possible to reset/clear all error codes.

Will the main dealer know I've used a OBD 2 reader.

I'm new to OBD scene, steep learning curve. But I'm enjoying the experience. When my head doesn't hurt.??

Many thanks
Angelo

Ford C-MAX 1.5 tdci 2015 - OBD 2 "engine service now" message - elekie&a/c doctor
Changing the battery on this should be a relatively straightforward process. There should be no issues starting the car afterwards. Are you sure all the battery leads are secure and tight? I doubt if an Elm scanner will give enough info to fix your problem. Also , did you by any chance connect the battery the wrong way round at any point ?

Thanks for the reply.

Yep, all connections secure and tight.

No reverse polarity.

I await my OBD ii reader, that's all I can do for now.

Ford C-MAX 1.5 tdci 2015 - OBD 2 "engine service now" message - elekie&a/c doctor
Just in case the electronics have thrown a wobbly, disconnect the battery for 5 mins , then re-try . You only need to disconnect one terminal.