118d - Just brought bmw 118d need advice - Benjamin Knight

So iv only had a fiat punto and a clio both petrol 1.2 but just brought a 2010 BMW 118d I'm a confident driver as expected found the new car very different is 2000 revs doing say 30-35mph in second straining the car or is third too high? Do I need higher revs any advice appreciated also is very different to me as rear wheel drive thanks

Edited by Benjamin Knight on 11/01/2019 at 22:33

118d - Just brought bmw 118d need advice - Graham567
Most cars are geared by 10 mph. So 1st for 0-10,2nd for 10-20,3rd for 20-30 and fourth 30-40.So at 30-35mph you should be in 4th.My Mondeo doesn't like around 30 in fourth so in my case i change down to 3rd until i reach 35ish(roads allowing) and then change up into fourth.
Hope that helps.
118d - Just brought bmw 118d need advice - gordonbennet

That engine should be quite happy poodling along at around 1500 mph, the turbo should also just be starting to come on stream when you want to increase speed.

Driven between about that 1500 and up to 2800/3000 rpm should be a nice rev range for a Diesel of that type, though the odd blast up to near enough the red band won't hurt it to blow the cobwebs out now and again, it will probably be quite happy down to about 1200 rpm at a steady speed but you may find not much turbo pressure available until getting nearer 1500, some Diesels don't really get going till 2000rpm but your BMW should be better than that.

Turbos need a little more sympathy to get the best and longest life out of them and the engine, so allow it to warm up a bit before making it work too hard, and after normal driving allow it to tickover for a minute or so before shutdown, if you been hammering it allow a couple of minutes tickover before shutdown, this is to allow the trubo to cool a bit so oil doesn't get cooked and block the oilways in the turbo itself.

Change the engine oil once a year or 10k at most, ignore what the handbook says completely on this.